Idea: Teaching bootstrappers and developers to think like a lawyer

I live simultaneously in two different worlds - I am both a full-time lawyer and a “full-time” bootstrapper/developer. I am constantly learning things in one world that help me in the other.

Law school quite literally rewires your brain to think differently. In addition to learning substantive law, you learn to engage in different thought processes, hone your reasoning skills and write effectively. As a lawyer, my job is to spot potential issues, devise strategies to achieve goals, communicate effectively and solve problems. I think many of you would agree that these tasks sound a lot like some of the most important concerns of a bootstrapper.

My idea is to create educational materials that teach bootstrappers and developers some of the knowledge and skills of a lawyer with the hopes of enabling them to put that knowledge and those skills to work for them. The program would cover argumentation, reasoning and logic, writing techniques, issue spotting and related matters. These skills would be taught in the context of running a small business (or managing your own personal life) to show how they these skills can be deployed in various settings, including outside of a legal context. In addition, the program would cover substantive areas of law that affect businesses and the individuals that run them, including the basics of contracts, business entities, torts, intellectual property, taxes, family law, estate planning, etc. More in depth coverage of these topics, plus deep dives, advanced topics and any “fun” topics requested could be covered as well. The goal of the substantive topics is to allow you to better spot trouble before it comes, help you avoid common pitfalls and, most importantly, allow you identify when you should seek appropriate legal counsel.