Idea: Microservices for App Developers

I’ve been building iOS applications since 2009 and hacked together a bunch of Micro-services (to use a buzz word) for various apps. I’ll take the most useful and generic and wrap these into a SaaS platform for app developers.

I’ve developed a range of useful solution from form to mail, through to analytics and event tracking. Not all of these are useful for every application but most are used at least once. I find myself relying on these APIs to develop applications quickly. Services would include:

• form to email (support and contact form)
  • remote configuration delivery (with OS library)
  • API cache proxy (help control costs for paid APIs when during download spikes)
  • usage stats per version (not everyone is happy with GA and other tracking solutions)
  • more TBC

Who is the ideal customer?
Contracting app developers, indie developers. Contractors can use the same API for rinse and repeat development. Indies can not worry about building web services.

What pain does the product solve?
As above. In general terms it is useful to have a set of APIs to help when developing applications. All of these services are provided elsewhere but integration can be tricky - or complex often for a simple need.

How will it make money?
Freemium SaaS service

What is the early-stage path to market
Free tier of services to validate idea - introduce paid services later. Content marketing of solving this problem in a generic way.

Limitations of the Idea
This is not a backend as a service like parse.com or similar - but a helping hand. Users may expect more then it provides.

1 Like

Doesnt Parse solve this for app developers?

Parse Core, focuses around data synchronisation and social logins, their analytics is a fully blown analytics package, and they also have a very good push notification platform. They offer the ability to run a cross platform backend in the cloud.