I made this: automatic lock/unlock for PCs with your phone

My name is Rui Rebelo.

My app/business is Umwelt, an app that you run on your Android Phone and Windows PC. When your phone is close to the PC it unlocks it. When the phone is far it locks it. Also, it warns your phone if someone closes the laptop lid when trying to steal it.

My website has a video that shows it in action (sorry, I am just a programmer, not Christopher Nolan).

The whole purpose is to help people have better/stronger passwords without the burden of typing them every time.

Unlike other solutions (e.g.: Windows Hello, Gatekeeper) it doesn’t require you to be online, a Microsoft account or special hardware that you might not have.

Please, criticize my website and evaluate my idea.

PS.: I have a couple of ideas on the background:

• use WiFi direct instead of Bluetooth (some desktop machines don’t have bluetooth)
  • use the phone fingerprint reader for authentication
  • integration with Windows Active Desktop
  • a password/PGP/SSH manager to automate other programs and websites logins.

What do you think of them?

Great idea, however it is already implemented in Windows 10 - https://www.cnet.com/how-to/windows-10-dynamic-lock-bluetooth-range/

How does your solution differ from the one already in Windows 10?

How does your solution differ from the one already in Windows 10?

Windows10’s Dynamic Lock only provides locking.

My solution provides automatic unlock, warning against theft and also prevents the screen saver while the user is in front of the computer.

Besides, my solution allows the user to adjust the lock/unlock distance.

Neat trick! However, I’m doubtful it solves a big enough problem to pay for it.

Is it such big a pain to enter a password so that I’d pay for not doing it? No. Is it a big pain to press Windows-L to lock the laptop so I’d pay for not doing it? No.

So in its current state it is a hobby side project, but not a potential business.