Hi, Janko here, bootstrapping w/ InvoiceFox

Hi all,

My name is Janko, I’m coming from Slovenia (Europe). My main product is an invoicing app InvoiceFox. I am making specific versions for specific countries. The most successful so far is (surprise surprise) the one made for my country (called Cebelca.biz … where “Cebelca = Small bee”).

But long term focus is on making the other countries’ versions work and grow as good or better.

Otherwise, I am a programmer. I often use different not so common programming languages and in general don’t care for frameworks and other non-crucial code lumps :slight_smile: (like jQuery).

I listen to the bootstrapped podcast when I find time.

Janko

Welcome Janko :slight_smile: Curious what language(s) you wrote InvoiceFox in?

Hi joe3ch, the server side is written in Rebol, the mobile app is being written in Kotlin :slight_smile:

1 Like

Awesome - I’ve never heard of either :slight_smile:

Rebol’s intro is quite amazing:

REBOL is not a traditional computer language. It’s not for everyone. It’s for thinkers and doers – those who want more power and flexibility in their language, and those who want to solve computing problems in smarter more elegant ways.

Kotlin? Wow, that’s the first time I’ve heard of someone using Kotlin commercially. I’m guessing you are a fan of JetBrains. :slight_smile:

What platform is the mobile app for? And how do you make Kotlin work on it?

@joet3ch: REBOL is interesting language and quite different than the classic bunch. It’s a lot like a lisp without parenthesis. It’s absolutely homoiconic (code is data) that you can use in runtime for achieving interesting things. You can create your own dialects in it and it has various unique viewpoints (like 37 data types).