Discuss Home · Bootstrapped Podcast · Scribbleton Personal Wiki · HelpSpot Customer Service Software · Thermostat NPS

Hi, I'm Kim, and I'm just getting started

Hi everyone,

I’m Kim Desorcie. I don’t have a product yet; my short-term goal is to validate something and get a good start on building it during the summer break before my last semester of university. After that, my current plan is to keep building products on the side while finishing my degree and working as a web developer. I’m studying abroad in Sydney, Australia right now, but usually I bounce around between various cities in the northeastern United States for uni, internships, and spending time with family in-between. Outside of software and business, my interests include art, history, the fantasy genre, and animals.

My current top idea is a mobile webcomic reader app, tentatively named ComicWyrm. I’m not completely sure it’s the one I’ll build, but so far it’s the most promising of those I’ve considered. (I’m aware this sounds like a terrible business idea on the surface, but after digging a little I found it was actually an under-served market where at least some of the users would be willing to pay a subscription.)

I’m unsure how I can contribute to this community, since I don’t have any experience and most of my knowledge comes from podcasts. What can newbies like me do to be helpful? Is it accepted here to occasionally make threads asking for help, if one isn’t able to help much with answering others’ questions?

Anyway, I’m looking forward to discussing startups together. Nice to meet all of you.

Hey! Welcome!