Hi, I'm Guillaume, let me introduce my mISV

Hi. My name is Guillaume, I’m a 28 yo microISV developer from France.
Having being fairly specialized worked in audio, video processing and 3D graphics I tend to present myself as a signal processing developer. But I also worked in maintenance, generalist firefighting modes.

I’ve started my first business in the desktop audio software market in March 2015.
https://www.auburnsounds.com

So I do everything. For now the money comes from the State which give you 2 years of runway (yes), also personal savings. Had a few sales through Gumroad.

I had already 3 free (average) products and it’s useful to collect e-mails, but I’ve found it very difficult to sell my commercial one. Distributors say very niche products are hard to market, so there is that.
Despite being something pretty interesting and new in my opinion (that isn’t worth much), there is so much software releases it’s hard to get through and bring awareness.

So I’m always on the lookout for any advices for growth!

I’m very happy to have found this community of people living the same struggle, personally this is pure bliss. :slight_smile:

I’m also doing technical-looking logos if you need one: http://gamesfrommars.fr/hand-made-svg-logos/

1 Like

Getting enough attention from the right people in a cost effective way is generally the hardest thing about any business.

My experience is that the more niche/specific your product is, the easier it is to market.

Also you generally don’t need distributors and other middle men in 2016.

3 Likes

As a former sound engineer/producer/bass player (and someone who’s graduate thesis was on signal processing) I root for you with all my heart man :slight_smile:

Narrow niches are easy to market, just like Andy said. Sound engineers still use old-school forums/message boards/IRC groups sometimes even news channels (like in “usenet newsgroups”).