Hi bootstrappers! I'm Frank from WineSecretary

I’m a Paris based software developer who likes wine. Over the last year or so, I’ve worked full-time on learning to sell a software product and make a living out of it.

My first product is Wine Secretary an app for people who drink wine (duh). It is now the #1 Android wine app worldwide. I now know that doing a B2C product was probably a big mistake! I’ll try B2B next time for sure!

During the last year, I’ve been learning

• Android development / UI / UX
  • Marketing
  • Copy-writing
  • Pricing strategies

Since May I’ve started making some money by selling in app annual sponsorships to access premium features. So far the revenue is in nowhere near what is required to live comfortably in a first world country.

Now my goals for Wine Secretary are

• Increase number of users
  • Increase revenues

I’m looking forward to being part of the Bootstrapped community. Thanks to everyone who has made it happen!

Hmm… #1 wine app and businesses do not knock your door yet? Did you try to contact wine makers for sponsored reviews, catalogues etc? I feel you can get the best of the both worlds!

1 Like

@rfctr, thanks for the feedback. Sadly enough people in the wine business haven’t been busting down my door yet. It looks like I’ll have to go out and find them in their natural habitat. And yes, you’re right there is a lot of B2B potential, I just haven’t pursued that angle yet.

I actually haven’t put that much effort into growing revenue yet. Up until now I’m mostly trying to grow the userbase, engagement and loyalty, so that the app will stay #1 in the future.

There is at least one competitor that has Angel funding, so I can’t just rest on my laurels.

Wow, amazing progress to be tops in your category. In terms of making money from mobile I have no idea :smile: Seems like you should have an iOS version and perhaps even desktop companion for serious buffs? You can probably charge more for this.