Discuss Home · Bootstrapped Podcast · Scribbleton Personal Wiki · HelpSpot Customer Service Software · Thermostat NPS

First side project, would love some feedback - GemBundle

Hello, I’m fairly new to the development world and brand new to the side project world. In the long term, I’d like to start my own business, one that has a profit model. For the time being, I’m content building apps that help people, and in no way, shape or form, are going to make me a millionaire.

My first real project, one that is still in it’s very early stages, is GemBundle. The website was built in order for myself and fellow Ruby programmers to find a new and better way to discover Ruby Gems. There are currently two other solutions out there, but none of them satisfied the goal that I was after, so I decided to build my own.

There are a few things that I know need to happen, in order to become more successful:

1. Add an about section
  2. Add an FAQ
  3. Revamp the comments section, inside of each gem show page

Thanks for taking a look, and I’m looking forward to your feedback.

Steve

Why do you think an about section would help it become more successful?

On my last saas the about section was viewed 0.3% of the time.

@johnf - Out of interest, do you have any data that would correlate visiting the about section with signups or purchases? Might be interesting to know if a user who signed up was more likely to hit the about section.

Allan

I think my sample size is too small to be relevant. < 3000 uniques, with 20ish trials.

Nobody who signed up for a trial actually visited my about page.

I suppose statistically yes, its not proven - but it does seem that it doesn’t matter much! Thanks, its quite interesting that :smile:

Allan