Finding a Tech Co-founder

Hi people,

Hope you are all doing well. In my first startup, I raised $60,000 on idea stage as I did not have a tech co-founder. Now, I am looking for a solid mobile full-stack tech co-founder to build a mobile app in NodeJS, JS or Elixir that might turn into an exciting startup.

If anyone can shed some light on how I could find a tech co-founder, it would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks!

I don’t have any advice on where you might find a suitable co-founder with the skills/experience you (think you) are looking for, but as a software developer, I do have some thoughts on what I would recommend you to focus on when trying to find such a person.

Short version

You should look for a (good) developer who shares your excitement and passion for the product, who is motivated to work on your business and has the ability to learn your business domain as well as new technolgies and frameworks (if they are not already known) and not focus on people with (only) experience in specific programming langauges or frameworks.

Long version

Some things to keep in mind:

• A skilled/experienced developer will be able to learn pretty much any technology stack or programming language in a reasonable amount of time. The time spent learning and understanding your business, product, problem domain and customer needs will most likely be much greater than any initial ramp-up time to learn a new technology stack.

• In my experience, what makes a good developer a good developer is not so much related to what programming language or technology stack they prefer to use in a given situation, but rather how they approach problem-solving, their ability to learn and understand (new) problem domains and their general understanding of programming and design principles, best practices and patterns, and overall experience. The fundamentals of (good) programming and (good) software are pretty much the same across all technolgies.