Do you use a Mechanical Keyboard?

Do any of you use a mechanical keyboard? The kind where there are real springs behind each key - as opposed to the type they typically make these days where the keys are on some kind of cutout that just isn’t that springy?

If so - any advice on them?

I have read that a lot of programmers and gamers use mechanical keyboards because they are much more responsive and many give you that clickety-clack sound that you either love or hate.

I’ve started reading up on them and am convinced a mechanical keyboard is the answer to the rage that has builds in me every time I used a “regular” contemporary keyboard. However, even though I live in a large metropolitan area none of the computer equipment stores keep them in stock, I need to order one online - which makes comparison really hard since it is feel and sound that I am looking for!

I’m a programmer, no interest in gaming, and I know I want a full keyboard with separate keys for the arrows and number pad area. Probably not too loud as I sometimes record screencasts of what I’m typing.

Since programmers gather here, I am hoping some of you use one and can offer some suggestions/advice.

Thanks!

Currently use the Microsoft ergonomic keyboard but have used a Kenesis in the past which has a lot of key travel and makes clicking sounds when you type definitely not mechanical but it gives a similar feel. It was pretty awesome just a bit small for me.

1 Like

I have got one (actual 3) and find when you are at the keyboard 12 hours a day it makes a difference. Make sure you get a backlit one.

1 Like

I’ve been using a DAS keyboard for years. It’s pretty much perfect. The only thing I’d give it up for would be a real IBM model M.

1 Like

Thanks to all for the feedback.

Are any of yours “ergonomic” mechanical keyboards? Do you find “ergonomic” is important for your comfort or is it more the key response?