Do we have time to learn new technologies or languages?

I’ve been a bootstrapper for 4 years now, more or less full-time.

So far, I’ve used C# for everything - for the main product (Desktop software), for tools, and for a small web app.

I’m very familiar with it, I have my own libraries, and I’m very quick in C#.

Now I’m developing my second product, a SaaS app. I’m on the fence which technology to pick.
On one hand, I know I’ll launch sooner if I continue using C#.
On the other hand, I’m feeling that in order to progress as a software developer, I really should try out new technologies.

Any thoughts on that?
Do we, as fulltime bootstrappers, have time to learn new technologies?
Is it wise to start a commercial project in a new language you have no experience in?
Will it hold back my progress as a developer if I do all my projects on the same technology stack?

I thought you’re decided to progress as a bootstrapper?

Learning new fads that are not useful in your business is a waste of time. You may convince yourself that learning this or that new technology will help you down the road, but it unlikely will happen.

3 Likes

You could learn new technologies in your “free” time and apply the learning back into your business and you’d be no worse off.

Personally, I don’t want to try new technology in my business’s code. I want it to be reliable, and I want to be able to reliably fix it when bad things happen. New technology is for play time and one-offs.

Learning/using a new technology for a new product isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Just depends on what your expectations are. If you’re not driven on a fast timeline to launch date, then it certainly is possible. However, I would not let this decision ride based solely on the NEED to learn other technologies.