Best Conferences for Bootstrappers

What conferences are you planning on attending over the next year?

As a bootstrapper - I’m more interested in conferences with actionable take-aways that I can apply as part of the launch / marketing strategy for my apps. I am also interested in the networking aspects of the conference attendees such as finding others on a similar entrepreneurial trajectory. I am less interested in development / tech conferences since I am a developer by trade and am working on balancing out my focus to lean more towards marketing.

I am planning on attending MicroConf 2014 (unless it happens to fall on my daughter’s birthday end of April). I’ve heard nothing but great things about this conference and also am a fan of Rob / Mike’s podcast.

The Business of Software conference has a promo that ends tomorrow for their 2013 conference (October 28-30). My impression of BoS is it is more geared towards established / larger software businesses so I haven’t considered it in the past (not to mention it is a bit pricey). I believe @ian spoke very highly of it on some podcasts so I’m curious of other’s thoughts on if this conference is worthwhile for smaller bootstrapped companies.

I also heard good things about Bacon Biz - it is definitely in the running for conferences for me in 2014.

• Tom

2 Likes

The Business of Software Conference streams their talks. Most sessions, anyway.

There’s also a MicroConf in Europe this October:

http://www.microconf.com/europe/

I believe @patio11 and other forum participants will be there. Tobias and I will also attend, but it’s our first MicroConf so I don’t know how it compares to other conferences.